Author Topic: DNA Health results for siblings.  (Read 1120 times)

Offline vixen

• Stevie and Marley
DNA Health results for siblings.
« on: August 04, 2021, 04:09:10 PM »
I have recently viewed a puppy and asked to see the health certificates of the parents.
The breeder was unable to show me mum certificate but said that she had her sister’s health certificate (litter sister ) and that was sufficient as it would be the same as for her sibling as it would be too costly to test again.
Is this correct?  When looking on line, I have read that even within the same litter, health results can vary.
I am not an expert so just wondered if the breeder was telling me the correct thing.
Thanks
Max (GSP)  always in my heart

Offline Pearly

• Donator
  • Pearl, Coral, Sally, Purdey and Kukri
Re: DNA Health results for siblings.
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2021, 05:18:15 PM »
Sadly the breeder is not being straight with you.  Siblings can be carriers or even affected by certain conditions and without the certificate and microchip ID you won’t know.

It’s only £125 to have a bitch fully heath tested plus £90 for the eye test and Gonioscopy.  Some say to have hips and elbows scored but this is not an essential for cockers, however, it is good practice.  Given the price of pups now, why would a breeder not health check! It’s a very small amount compared to the income they are about to generate.

In our case we have health checked.  We have the certificate.  She’s also had her eyes tested so we know what sort of sire to look for.  Next on the list is desirable attributes, temperament and working standard.  We are also giving away three pups and charging the minimum for the others that will go to friends.  Any sold to people we don’t know will be at a sensible price and failing that will be given to a rescue to go as service dogs.

I would suggest to find a breeder who has health checked both sire and dam and charge sensible prices for their pups.

Offline Toofast