Author Topic: New to working cocker's is this right.  (Read 2614 times)

Offline Tree79

• Site Member
  • Sexi Lexi.....................
New to working cocker's is this right.
« on: November 16, 2007, 09:52:08 PM »
HI all,,

I'm new to the breed, and this site, and this laptop its doing my head in.......( if this post turns up somewhere else I'm sorry just pushed the button and off it went so I'm doing it again)

Right back to my point, i have read somewhere have you should let cockers off the first time you take them out because at this age 13 weeks or what ever they so in love with you and worried about losing you that they will come back...

So my little sweet baby can go out on Monday and she is so small i live in the middle of a field and I'm very worried if i were to let her off i would ever seen her again...

My last dog was a hamilitonstovare (a what i hear you say) so he was a hound and when he jumped the wall and got out he ever came back it would take hours, so I'm a bit worried on whats the best thing to do with Lexi...

Any idea what did you guys do, i looked at some of your post and you seem to have deaf dog too sometime and they adults...

Cheers for reading...
8 weeks ago i was a city girl.
now i live in a field..............
and my fav shoes are wellies
for dog walking..................
its the good life 4me...........

Offline Aearoniel

• Site Member
  • Callie
Re: New to working cocker's is this right.
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 10:16:33 PM »
Callie is 5 and a bit months and when we are out she goes on a longline, she feels like she isn't on a lead but we have control to get her back :)

I love hamiltonstovare, look a bit like giant foxhounds  :luv:

Offline kalami

• Site Member
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2007, 10:23:47 PM »
I've let Bella off lead since 12ish weeks, we took her training and were told to let her off - have done ever since. She is getting a bit confident now though (20 weeks).

Offline Michele

• Site Member