Cocker Specific Discussion > Puppies

What is normal?

(1/3) > >>

russ-g:
Hiya,

Newbie here with a 15 wk old Cocker. I seem to spend most of my time wondering 'is this normal?'. I've worked out many answers myself as time has gone on, but I have some unanswered ones so I figured I'd ask!

Here goes:

- He won't go to the toilet anywhere that isn't our garden (other than accidents in the house)
- He won't be outside without me. Waits by back door. I expected him to want to go and explore, but I have to be there come rain or shine.
- He follows me everywhere! Always at my feet, sometimes literally underneath them!
- He behaves differently (better) with me than with other members of the family (wife + 2 children).
- It's practically impossible to get his attention (let alone recall him) when he's smelling something.
- He jumps up and paws at the faces of other dogs he meets, nothing aggressive, just play I think, but I worry it will generate a negative reaction from other dogs.

And then, a question:

- Sometimes he'll completely ignore my command, which I suspect is normal, but what is the best thing to do in this circumstance? This happens indoors and outdoors at different times, usually when he's found something he's interested in or has something he shouldn't. I've noticed sometimes it's a game, other times he seems scared, other times he'll just ignore me entirely. But I want to make sure I'm not making things worse. What's the best way to approach these situations where he ignores a command or refuses to do what he's told? I'm conscious of not repeating commands, but I still need to move forward in these situations, somehow!

Cheers
Russ

bizzylizzy:
hi and welcome to you and Stanley! (Love the name! :luv:)