Author Topic: Hello, newbie here and would LOVE some advice! :)  (Read 1566 times)

Offline LittlePepperL

Hello, newbie here and would LOVE some advice! :)
« on: August 03, 2021, 02:23:16 PM »
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and new to being a Cocker Spaniel owner and just looking for a bit of friendly advice please!

I should probably start by saying I am obsessed with dogs (aren't we all). I have had dogs in my family all my life (3 black labs, 1 border terrier and 1 wirehaired miniature dachshund) and when me and my partner decided that we were ready to get a dog of our own I was over the moon and began my research.

I also have horses and we plan on having a family in years to come so we wanted a family dog that could also quite easily come to the stables too. Anyway to cut a long story short, we ended up bringing Pepper home two weeks ago. She is 13 weeks old, a mix of red and golden in colour and just absolutely adorable and so unbelievably smart - our perfect girl.

I also want to say that I want to do the best by her, I want her to be happy and I also want to keep her (and us) safe.

We started her training from day one and she knows a variety of 'commands' already as I want to make sure I keep her both mentally and physically stimulated. She is semi-crate trained. At night, we put a pen round her crate and she sleeps downstairs but still wakes us twice in the night for the toilet and then usually at 6am she wakes us up for cuddles. So I go down let her out and we have a nap on the sofa until about 7am. She will go in her crate throughout the day to play with her toys and nap. She hasn't toileted indoors for a while now although I know we cannot yet say she is house trained.