Author Topic: A playpen for every occasion! New puppy owner Q  (Read 1799 times)

Offline sophie.ivy

A playpen for every occasion! New puppy owner Q
« on: October 07, 2021, 04:29:35 PM »
Hi guys,

I'm the proud new owner of a gorgeous, bouncy 10-week-old working cocker spaniel bitch. I've helped raise a few Sheltie puppies, and have been dog sitting for x6 WCS for the last 10 years and thought I was prepared for a WCS puppy... :005: Silly me!!

I'm looking for a bit of advice / reassurance (!) about the way we've been penning her as I've never done it like this before, and how else we can work on stopping her from picking up all the things she's not meant to in the garden!

In many ways, she's a dream - she is sleeping really well at night in her crate, and has never had an accident during the day (only a couple of wee's during the night) so toilet training is going better than expected. In others, her behaviour has been a bit 'challenging' (polite way to put it!) she picks up everything she's not meant to - stones and snails are her favourite things in the world to pick up and hold in her mouth! She's also eaten a slug, which prompted a panicky call to the vets (her worming medicine covered lungworm - phew!) and she's brilliant at responding to her name UNTIL she has something she's not meant to or I want her to stop digging.

We have a cat so she's in an indoor playpen (8 panels) for most of the day as they get used to each other (we work from home so she gets lots of attention and play time), but she did have freedom of the garden until the stone issue...we're now putting up a big playpen in the garden (24 panels) to stop her getting to the stones. We tried 'leave it', swapping it for a higher value item, and distracting her but no joy. We started ignoring her so then she started chewing them! We really don't want her swallowing any as have heard lots of horror stories about surgeries, damaged teeth and big vets bills.