Author Topic: Is it OK to foster a cocker? - Updated with pics  (Read 16767 times)

Offline dmulally

• Site Member
Is it OK to foster a cocker? - Updated with pics
« on: October 21, 2007, 11:30:44 PM »
Hi All,

Just a quick question.

There is a cocker at the pound kind of in the area and I was wondering if it is ok to foster a cocker until someone was ready to have them.

The cocker is going to be put down in a week or so unless claimed. While I think it would be great to save him, does it play with his feelings if he is housed for a while and pampered and then sent to another home (hopefully forever)? I am not in a position to keep him forever.

Rommel hasnt met many other dogs so god knows what would happen there.

The dog in question is this fellow... http://www.dolforums.com.au/index.php?showtopic=116184

I am a complete novice when it comes to dogs but I have a massive backyard and he would get all the attention he could ever hope to get from me. And Rommel can teach him how to destroy a garden. I see that Tillydog from here has PM'd so I am trying to contact her.

Cheers

Damian

(mods, feel free to move this as you see fit)

Offline debbie321

• Site Member
Re: Is it OK to foster a cocker?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2007, 11:38:15 PM »
I'm a novice too but if it was me given the choice of taking the dog in for a week or two or see it put down then I'd have to foster  :D

It might be hard on Rommel or he might take to this new boy? 

You'd also have to think of you!  Could you cope with a possible unruly dog that you weren't going to keep?  Would you be able to let him go again?

Whatever you decide I hope that this lad finds a permenant home soon  :luv:

Offline dmulally

• Site Member
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2007, 11:49:53 PM »
What I want comes second. Just ask Rommel. He has known that since day one.

Rommel is ok with other dogs I guess. He normally runs right up then is submissive or skips around them.