Author Topic: Adult or puppy  (Read 1756 times)

Offline sams

• Site Member
Adult or puppy
« on: January 20, 2004, 05:16:16 PM »
We are considering a cocker to fill the gap left by our retriever who we lost last year. Having had a dog for 30 odd years we are getting withdrawal symptons. Also being semi retired and only occasonal visits from grandchildren we have more time.

We always bought a pup (westie, old english, retriever ) and now thinking about a cocker.

Any comments or views would be appreciated. :?

lynseyloo

Adult or puppy
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2004, 08:53:09 PM »
well I am no expert on these matters, but my first thought was older cocker in a rescue..it is a personal choice thing though.  

someone more experienced than moi will come along soon though, just wanted to answer you post, so you knew you was being heard ;)

Good luck with whatever you decide is riht for you and your familys situation.  :)                    

Offline PennyB

Adult or puppy
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2004, 11:26:23 PM »
I guess it depends on whether you want to go through all that puppy thing again and then when you think you can take a breather along comes the teenage cocker with some more bright ideas to keep you on your toes (its not just the mess but there's the training and all the behaviour stuff as well to think about)!

If you decide on an older cocker it might be worth getting one from cocker rescue or a rescue that assesses each dog (especially those that foster dogs in homes so that they get a better idea of how each will be in a persons home when they're rehomed).

You might find that older cockers come as a pair, which is great as I think (then I'm biased) that cockers are great in 2's.                    
Friends of Hailey Park
Four Paws Animal Rescue (South Wales)

Cockers are just hooligans in cute clothing!

Offline LindaW

• Site Member
    • http://www.shandardel-cockers.co.uk
Adult or puppy
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2004, 06:08:14 PM »