Author Topic: walking on double leads  (Read 1406 times)

Offline ladywales

• Site Member
walking on double leads
« on: February 02, 2004, 03:27:36 PM »
Hi everyone
I haven't posted here much at all but always read the forums with much interest. :)
I have a 3 year old black cocker Bobby and have just taken on a 1 year blue roan cocker called Starr.  She is a lovely little girl who has never lived in a house before but is the most lovely nature you canimagine and the two of them are getting to know each other well and so far no real problems!!  :o
I would just like some advise on which would be the best way to start taking them out for their walks together.  I know there are double leads to be had but would you recommend these or would it be better to walk them separately?? :?
I am new to having two dogs at once, but also didn't realise how much fun it can be too!! :)
Look forward to your replies
thanks Tracy                    
Tracy x

Offline Kim

• Site Member
    • Molkara Cocker Spaniels
walking on double leads
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2004, 10:02:51 PM »
I have tried the double leads, or couplers, but I find using two separate leads much easier.
This way you can adjust each dog according to how much he/she does or doesn't pull ahead. - If you see what I mean ?                    
www.Molkara.co.uk

Save the earth; it's the only planet with chocolate.

Offline PennyB

walking on double leads
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2004, 12:04:35 AM »
I got the impression from my dog trainer that couplers or double leads are OK if your dogs walk quite well. I've decided to walk mine on separate leads as they sometimes need to be walked on very narrow pavements (and I mean narrow) where one dog goes in front and the other behind. It also helps while trying to get both of them to walk to heel if I use 2 leads (my trainer walks 4 gsds on separate leads to heel!).                    
Friends of Hailey Park
Four Paws Animal Rescue (South Wales)