Author Topic: Can I legally walk my dog on a bridle path?  (Read 12399 times)

Offline happydog

• Site Member
  • Run free, my Beautiful Bella 2005-2017
Can I legally walk my dog on a bridle path?
« on: June 09, 2008, 04:20:08 PM »
I have been doing so for the past 15 years ph34r .  It runs across the farm where Fern was born. However I got harrassed today by a very imperious, rude and sarcastic horse rider who maintains that I shouldn't  :huh:

Everyone I have ever met there has always been friendly and courteous until this baggage turned up a couple of months ago. Her attitude really spoilt my walk. Fern is hardly a horse worrier, she doesn't go near them and always comes straight to heel to be leashed anyway. I can understand them, having priority, but does that mean no one can traverse bridle paths without a horse, or if they have a dog or a bike? I have seen plenty of people with dogs, bikes and horses riding along there over the past 15-20 years.

What's the legal position, anyone know?
happydog

Whatever today brings, ensure that you make some good memories

Offline MacTavish Boys

• Site Member
Re: Can I legally walk my dog on a bridle path?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 04:41:39 PM »
I think you will find, that you are perfectly in the right to walk along the bridlepath, where we live. we have posts saying bridleways and public footpaths, they are marked blue, yellow and white, certain ones horse riders are not allowed to use, but the rest of them are both for foot walkers and horse riders  ;) what a miserable ol whatsit, take no notice of her and enjoy your walks with Fern, we also have miserable horse owners, who think they own the paths, i always pull over to one side and keep the boys sitting, they never make allowances for us to walk past first >:(

Stephanie, George and Hamish xxx
George'n' Hamish's Mum

Offline suzysu

• Site Member
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2008, 04:57:46 PM »