Author Topic: Crate  (Read 854 times)

Offline woollypigs

• Look Squirrel !
Crate
« on: March 22, 2010, 09:54:09 PM »
Reading this forum there is a lot of talk about using a create while your dog is growing up. I have never used that before, we just used the utility room or kitchen while they were puppies.

Can someone please point me to a url with a picture of the crates you are talking about. So that I don't get the wrong image in my head.

Is there a reason for it and what are the benefits ?
Never trust a dog with orange eyebrows
Both halves of woollypigs post from this account - Woolly & Peli :)

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
Re: Crate
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 09:44:55 AM »
Google is your friend here - just type in "dog crate" or "crate training" and you'll get hundreds of pages come up :D

Jane

Offline Victoria25

• Donator
  • Perfect Poppy (almost!)
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 11:18:33 AM »
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Folding-36-Dog-Puppy-Cage-Crate-Carrier-Large-Black_W0QQitemZ110509045226QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Pet_Supplies_Dogs?hash=item19bada35ea

Poppy's looks like this. I have covered it on 3 sides with a black blanket. She still sleeps in it now at 13 months. When she is tired she takes herself off there to bed and won't come out until the morning! Because she feels safe she will happily lay in at the weekends, has always slept throught the night and can come to other people's houses for the night and be contained!

Poppy is now one! Watch her first year!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVqf3TnIL6c

Offline Maria n Dennis

• Donator
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2010, 11:51:39 AM »
I have the same crate as in the link above , also covered with a blanket with a bed in  :D

Offline woollypigs

• Look Squirrel !
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2010, 11:55:13 AM »
But what are the benefits for a crate versus a blanket/bed ? I have only every used a the latter.

Offline Victoria25

• Donator
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2010, 12:02:32 PM »