Author Topic: Wish me luck, Tilly Is going raw.......  (Read 1886 times)

Offline butterflywings21

• Tilly 10/02/2013~Jenson 09/01/2019
Wish me luck, Tilly Is going raw.......
« on: May 17, 2014, 02:53:37 PM »
After weeks of reading info and being 50/50 I'm going to go for it.  We went to Paws in the Park today and spoke to a lovely man called Ben who has his own company and answered all my questions (http://benyfitnatural.co.uk/collections/working-dog).  Tilly has done really well on Barking Heads Grain Free and sometimes Wainwrights grain free wet food but she still has dry flaky skin on her back and on her tummy is all spotty and rough (his wife said it was a skin allergy).  So I'm going to do one meal a day of raw food and slowly introduce it over a period of a week.  Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
Any help would be welcomed as I'm new to this all.
I like the sound of this food and as it's complete I wouldn't have to add anything else (so makes it fool proof for me),  I also like the fact that I'm near to them so can get it when I need and not have to store lots of it.

If Tilly weighs 11.5 kgs am I right in finally feeding her around 220grams aday?? 
What amount would I start with when introducing it to her???

any help please.....sorry for a log post..

Offline elaine.e

• Sweet William
Re: Wish me luck, Tilly Is going raw.......
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2014, 04:44:57 PM »
When I started my 2 on raw I knew they were slim and abut the right weight so I started them on 2.5% of their weight as most people suggest between 2% and 3%. So for Tilly, assuming 11.5 kg is the weight you want her to be, that would be about 290g per day. After a while I decreased William's slightly and increased Louis' slightly. Now almost 5 years later, they both have about 2.2%. So don't worry if you don't get the % right straightaway as it's easy enough to feed a bit more or less if Tilly loses a bit of weight or puts some on.