Author Topic: Advice Needed  (Read 1798 times)

Offline Spanielsmum

• Site Member
Advice Needed
« on: October 18, 2005, 02:06:34 PM »
As you will have gathered I'm relatively new to cocker spaniel ownership :blink: I also have a working springer but grooming wise he's a doddle :lol:

My rescue cocker (nearly 2 yrs old) came to me absolutely matted up on his ears and in his armpits. His feathers had been chopped off. I was told by the lady at the rescue that "he needs to be sedated at the groomers" Well, I booked him in to be castrated and asked for him to be trimmed whilst under the anaesthetic which he was.

I'm taking things very slowly as I think he's been bashed with a hairbrush. :angry:  If he sees me get the grooming tools out (I also have persian cats :blink: ) he shoots away and won't come near me. I asked at the vet's for advice and they sold me a slicker brush which has a rubber flexible back so it fits nicely in your palm and he doesn't see it (hopefully!) Once he realises what I'm doing I have to virtually pin him down (not cruelly though, I hasten to add) I'm trying to keep on top of his coat but would you recommend that I booked him in to a groomers or just persevere myself? I only got him at the end of July so he's still learning to trust me and I don't want to undo the very small progress we are making.
Thanks for reading this  :D

Offline Joelf

• Site Member
Advice Needed
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2005, 02:44:28 PM »
Hi Glynis. :)
Your poor dog! No wonder he dislikes being groomed if he's been hit with the brush. His previous owners were probably less than tactful when they groomed him (if they did at all!!) :angry: