Author Topic: Can Anyone Recommend a Good Grooming Book  (Read 1390 times)

Offline AnnieM

• Site Member
  • Jazmin
Can Anyone Recommend a Good Grooming Book
« on: August 05, 2006, 03:18:25 PM »
Hi all, my babies are only 14 weeks so I have plenty of time (hopefully) to read up on how to groom them properly (possibly for showing, if they are good enough).  Could anyone recommend a good book to teach me how to do this correctly.  I have seen one called DOGS AND HOW TO GROOM THEM by HILARY HARMAR, although this one is not breed specific, anyone know if this is any good and also possibly a book about showing as I have never done it before and although I don't even know if they are any good standard wise, am still going to take them to ringcraft classes for fun and then we will see.

**DALEMSTAR COCKERS**

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
Re: Can Anyone Recommend a Good Grooming Book
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2006, 10:22:42 PM »
There really aren't any good books that go into any great detail on handstripping a Cocker for the show ring. The Hilary Harmer book won't help much as it's American and really only covers clipping Cockers (if it's the same one I've got with a blue cover?). The Cocker Club do a little booklet on trimming which you can order online HERE which you might find useful. I think the Frank Kane book (Pet Owners Guide to Cocker Spaniels) also covers grooming & trimming quite well. If you want to show your girls, you really need someone to guide and teach you as grooming is one of those skills which can't really be picked up from books. Perhaps you could ask your breeder (if she lives locally) or when you start ringcraft, you might bump into a Cocker breeder who could give you some practical tuition.

There are quite a few books which offer an introduction to showing but some are American so make sure you get a British one such as "Good Showing" by Peggy Grayson or "Dog Showing, From Beginners To Winners" by Robert Killick.
Jane

Offline sarah25