Author Topic: Advice for a complete novice!  (Read 2149 times)

Offline JerryBerry

Advice for a complete novice!
« on: November 07, 2008, 10:22:05 AM »
Just wondering what is the best way of sorting Jerry's coat out? He is an 8 month old working cocker and he's looking a bit bedraggled! His once cute mohican is now getting beyond a joke and the liver patch on his back is soft and smooth in the middle of the patch but much lighter and dry (like its dead fur) round the edge of the patch - it looks to me like it wants taking off but Im not sure of the right method to use.

Sorry if it sounds like a rediculous questions but my other dogs have all been easy maintenance lab coats or mungrals who just neeeded a good brush now and again!!  ph34r
MICHELLE AND JERRY XXX

Offline ladylola

• Donator
Re: Advice for a complete novice!
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2008, 02:06:55 PM »
You could try handstripping. Pluck the fur out by hand if it's ready to come out. If not you could use a coat king they remove tons of dead hair. Or get a metal wide tooth come and weave an elastic band through the teeth. Comb with it laid flat on the body.
Julie. Owned by Sasha, Ellie, Monty, Paisley, Louie & Molly
One just isn't enough.

Offline JerryBerry

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2008, 04:14:07 PM »
Are they called coat king mars curry comb? if so how big? - just googled it and ebay came up and there are loads!!!!!!
MICHELLE AND JERRY XXX

Offline ladylola

• Donator
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2008, 06:20:46 PM »
http://www.cockersonline.co.uk/discuss/index.php?topic=5949.msg59055#msg59055

They are called Mars coat king.  They are very good at stripping out the hair but they do cut.
Julie. Owned by Sasha, Ellie, Monty, Paisley, Louie & Molly
One just isn't enough.

Offline joanne_v

• Site Member
  • Team Edward
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2008, 11:00:04 PM »