Author Topic: Hanstripping, how long will it take....  (Read 1341 times)

Offline bajoleth

• My Beautiful Belle.
Hanstripping, how long will it take....
« on: October 25, 2009, 02:50:11 PM »
to get rid of all the puppy fluff :huh: I have been hanstripping Belle for nearly 2 months now, I seem to get a fair amount each session, I do her daily for about half an hour and will do her head when she is on my lap during the evening. Most of you that know Belle know that she is extremely fluffy so I am aware it will take longer than most but I feel like I am getting nowhere :'( My breeder says its coming along fine and not to worry too much about it she is still a puppy etc. I can see a slight improvement but not much am I being impatient or am I not doing it for long enough any advice would be really appreciated, she has a show on sat and I am afraid she is still too fluffy :-\ I don't want to nag my lovely breeders about this as they have a very unwell relative at the moment and are giving us enough of their time as it is ::)
Jo, Belle and Monty

Offline spanielcrazy

• Site Member
Re: Hanstripping, how long will it take....
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2009, 01:49:35 PM »
You won't completely get rid of the puppy fluff until it's ready to come out, and she is still a bit too young for that (usually puppy coat "blows" in bitches after their first season; if spayed before that, around 8-9 months old) With puppies you do the best you can but most of them won't have as tight a "jacket" as the adults

I know how frustrating a heavy coated black can be, I had one myself  ::) I did have a "Eureka!" moment when the lightbulb went on as to stripping her  :005:  but a lot of the blacks carry more topcoat than other colours even as adults, it's just the way it is.  ::)
The madhouse: Michelle, Joy, Jordie, Gizmo, Bracken, Jewel

"My darlings,I love you more than life itself, but you're all ****ing mad!"  Ozzy Osbourne

Offline Mittens

• Rock Steady Eddie