Author Topic: Advice needed before Gracies first trim!  (Read 1578 times)

Offline sarahbe

Advice needed before Gracies first trim!
« on: August 08, 2010, 01:09:38 PM »
Gracie is going for a trim on Tuesday. I can have her hand stripped(£45.00) or clipped(£22.50). Can someone tell me the pros and cons please? Also she is only 6 months old and VERY fluffy- very furry leg warmers and punk like on her head. I am not sure how much to have off- any advice appreciated- thanks.

She is fluffier than this now!

Offline MaggieR

• Donator
Re: Advice needed before Gracies first trim!
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2010, 01:20:13 PM »
At 6 months I don't think they would look at clipping her anyway, she will still have all her puppy fur and that should be handstripped.  And at 6 months I'm not convinced that much will come away, but I'm no expert by any stretch.  Am sure one of the groomers will be along with proper advise soon, but in the meantime I think you should be thinking along the lines of handstripping...
Lisa
x
Lisa & Maggie x

One reason a dog can be such a comfort when you're feeling blue is that he doesn't try to find out why.  ~Author Unknown

Offline Scarlett

• Julie & Scarlett from Greece
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2010, 01:37:55 PM »
www.cockersonline.co.uk/discuss/index.php?topic=74824.0

I am not experienced but I agree for handstripping....
I did it for Scarlett at 6 months although she was not so fluffy and it was fantastic!
"Of all the dogs that are so sweet
The Spaniel is the most complete.
Of all the Spaniels, dearest far
The little loving Cockers are."
Ernest Howard Shepard, Mc Obe 1879 - 1976

Offline grracee

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2010, 09:08:48 PM »