Author Topic: Hand stripping question  (Read 3336 times)

Offline Terri in Devon

• Ollie
Hand stripping question
« on: June 01, 2011, 07:41:42 PM »
I would like to have a go at hand stripping Ollie.  I have used the comb and elastic band and it has got rid of all his puppy fur but I am now left with the fur on his back which his about 3" long all over.  How long will his fur be when the hand stripping is complete. I am new to all this so would be grateful for any advice.  Ollie is 11 months old, black show cocker. 

Offline ebony girl

Re: Hand stripping question
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 08:40:52 PM »
have no advice im afraid but am gonna be interested in this thread as it was gonna be my next posted question also  ;)....lets hope some experts come along soon and give us some advice x

Offline louisedi

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2011, 01:21:55 PM »
The cocker spaniel club, do a booklet on grooming cockers, there is also a dvd on grooming the cocker spaniel, if you are able to go and  watch a groomer hand stripp its worth a visit, as there is a knack!

Offline Jane S

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2011, 04:02:32 PM »
I would like to have a go at hand stripping Ollie.  I have used the comb and elastic band and it has got rid of all his puppy fur but I am now left with the fur on his back which his about 3" long all over.  How long will his fur be when the hand stripping is complete. I am new to all this so would be grateful for any advice.  Ollie is 11 months old, black show cocker.  

Perhaps you could post a photo of Ollie so we can get an idea of how far you've got? Hand stripping doesn't shorten the hair as such - it removes all the excess, dead puppy fluff hopefully leaving a nice flat coat once finished (not that hand stripping is ever really finished, more like a constant work in progress, specially on a black :D)
Jane

Offline Terri in Devon

• Ollie
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2011, 07:42:24 PM »