Author Topic: Reactive dog and puppy?  (Read 3690 times)

Offline Candyfloss2022

Reactive dog and puppy?
« on: March 30, 2022, 09:41:42 PM »
Hello everyone just looking for some advice please as I have been dancing around this topic for two years or so and I feel I need to make a decision one way or the other now! So I have a 9 year old neutered male golden cocker who is the most wonderful dog in the world :) I’m very isolated with no friends or family so my dog is my world however I’m haunted what will happen when he is no longer here and debating a puppy?

However he is quite protective/ resource guards me and can be reactive on a lead with dogs- is this asking for trouble? Will a puppy copy him? He also does bark in the garden at every car door slam, person go by etc which due to last neighbour moaning it makes me very worried someone else will complain ( once he barks more than twice or so I get him in of course) I worry a puppy will copy this?

And I worry he will be upset as it’s always just been us two, my vets are 50/50 split on this- some say yes I think a third ‘ being’ will stop it being so intense- another vet looked horrified :(  I have had behaviourists in since he was young and they said they could t suggest anything I wasn’t already doing and we are quite accepting of our little life on that front- he is what he is and the times we do venture into a cafe etc I just prepare like a military op in case kids/ dogs come at him etc

Anyone had a new puppy with a reactive dog or am I asking for trouble? I did try many tears btw but they wouldn’t let me adopt due to the reactivity before I get lambasted for ‘shop not adopt’. Thanks x

Offline AndyB

• Donator
Re: Reactive dog and puppy?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2022, 07:26:52 AM »