Author Topic: Is he eating too much?  (Read 2020 times)

Offline YorkshirePudd

• Site Member
Is he eating too much?
« on: September 03, 2007, 10:02:27 AM »
Hello all... Were still having runny problems with Milo not a day yet with a normal poop and he's still going up to 10 times if not more a day
- Doggy doc has given him 'biotics to rule out colitus, but I know that over feeding can cause this -
  We have him on JWB at the mo - he's 12 wks tomorrow and on about 180g a day (soaked) and treats are taken from this - is this ok? His weight seems fine, rib test done...! - and he wolfs his dinner without pausing for breath. How much do other pup parents feed?  
Reassurance/advice needed

Pudd x

Offline Jeeves

• Site Member
  • Mrs Bridges - International Love Goddess!
Re: Is he eating too much?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2007, 10:26:31 AM »
Now I'm no expert, but we recently put Mrs Bridges on JWB and according to the feed guide she should have 170g a day (she's 5 and weighs about 10kg).

If you're giving Milo 180g and he's 12 weeks old, it sounds quite a lot.  However, I've not had a puppy before so as I say, I'm no expert on how much you feed pups, but that's what we give Beezy.

Does this help??!
Parker, Mrs Bridges, Ronald and Jeeves (my Little Bear, no longer with us) and Nicky (that's me!)

Offline YorkshirePudd

• Site Member
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2007, 11:11:01 AM »
the puppy food guide on the back of the pack is based on the intended adult weight - thats what were following ... god now am really worried!

Offline Beth

• Site Member
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2007, 11:19:29 AM »
I've never weighed out Jarvis' food, but puppies eat a lot more than you'd expect, they use up so much energy growing. The amount sounds fine to me. If you're concerned you could talk it over with your vet next time you're there? :blink:
Owned by Jarvis (Cocker), and Lucy (Cavalier).

Offline YorkshirePudd

• Site Member
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2007, 11:34:09 AM »