Author Topic: (Newbie here) Going to see cocker puppies on sunday...  (Read 2107 times)

Offline anglofrenchie

(Newbie here) Going to see cocker puppies on sunday...
« on: August 09, 2013, 09:55:03 PM »
...much excited!  :D

I haven't got a cocker puppy yet but have been actively searching for the last week since we finally decided that we were ready to have one.
Have been thinking about getting a dog for over six months now and after a lot of breed research we set our hearts on the cocker.
Never had one before so hoping that we are making the right choice.

They just seem like lots of fun and nice family dogs.

Anyone got any tips about picking the right puppy when viewing? Are dogs or bitches better with kids? Any info is welcome.

Thanks.

Offline Jan D

• Roxy & Bobby
Re: (Newbie here) Going to see cocker puppies on sunday...
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2013, 10:01:14 PM »
Only tip I can give is to make sure you have done your research on the breeder as well as the breed. There are too many unscrupulous breeders out there. Have a look at the tips on this site about buying a puppy and please make sure your pup is adequately health tested.

Cockers are fab dogs and providing you have the time to devote to them make wonderful companions but they are very much companion dogs and usually don't do well being left alone for long periods.

Good luck with your search!  ;)
Roxy b.19.05.10  Bobby b.21.08.11
My goal in life is to be as good a person as my dogs think I am.

Offline anglofrenchie

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2013, 10:04:35 PM »
Thanks for the tip.
I shall make sure i ask some questions to the breeder.  ph34r
She did seem interested in asking about our home and family when i phoned. Hopefully that is a good sign...

Offline Jan D

• Roxy & Bobby
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2013, 10:07:05 PM »
That does sound good - have a little look at Breeders section of this forum there are lots of tips there.

Are you getting a show or working cocker?

Offline Helly D