Author Topic: Constant Telling Off!  (Read 1918 times)

Offline Pete and Jo

• Site Member
    • http://
Constant Telling Off!
« on: January 19, 2005, 11:15:57 AM »
We have had Jarvis for 2 1/2 weeks now and as I work from home most of the time, I have to contend with the constant barking as he knows I am upstairs.  He is real little live wire so you can imagine the need to shout 'no', 'off', 'stop', 'leave it' all the time, and I have even resorted to barking and growling back at him. :lol:

I hope it is normal, but I am starting to feel a bit of a bully and do not want Jarvis to be scared of me.

Any advice??

Offline Woody's Mum

• Site Member
  • ''The dog is the god of frolic''
Constant Telling Off!
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2005, 11:24:26 AM »
Hi There,

I am no expert but have you tried totally ignoring Jarvis? Even if you are shouting at him, he is still getting attention, which is what he is after! I know its not always practical to leave a puppy barking downstairs though.

Is he barking at the bottom of a stair gate or in a seperate room entirely? If its the stair gate (Daisy does this) then try putting him in a seperate room behind a closed door so he can't hear you or your movements. Give him a filled kong, get your ear plugs and stick with it!!! He is very young though and probably just wants reasurance, he'll probably settle down once he gets into a routine.

Good Luck!   ;)  
With Love, Toni & Woody xx

www.myspace.com/tonitee

Offline PennyB

Constant Telling Off!
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2005, 11:26:08 AM »
You might want to bring in some 'timeouts' rather than contiuosly saying no etc for same thing. If he continue sot do something after you've already said no then do a timeout for a shortwhile (ignore him while you do this including eye contact and when you let him out his timeout do the same). He may just become immune to the word no or shouting as often he wants your attention and by doing this you're giving it to him.