Author Topic: Yet another post about biting - very long but need thoughts on my theory please  (Read 1196 times)

Offline April Shower

• Donator
So .....  I don't know if I'm being fanciful and completely misreading doggy signals (complete novice) but please let me know what you think.  I'm afraid this is an extremely long post, but I genuinely want to get to the bottom of this problem and I value advice from forum members with all their experience. If you have any feedback please be brutally honest - if you think I'm crazy, please say so!!  Archie is now about 15 weeks and has been a biter (not a nipper, a biter), since we've had him.  I've followed advice on how to handle it (positive reinforcement etc.) and now I'm starting to develop a theory - but I really need those of you with experience to tell me what you think.  Who knows, it may be a well documented puppy behaviour that everyone else knows about and I don't.....   Here goes.  I think Archie bites out of affection.  I think he thinks the more he bites the more he's showing affection.   The biting happens mostly when we get affectionate with Archie - scratching him behind his ears, rubbing his chest etc.; also when he's allowed in our living room with us in the evening - he just clicks as soon as he walks through that door; and also when he's excited to see us again after we've been in another room for a while without him - 5 minutes, an hour, whatever. There's no biting connected with food or toy possession, or fear of us, or fear of a situation, as far as I can tell.  As soon as we start to talk sweetly to him, and rub his chest or his ears he either rolls onto his back for a tummy rub - with the jerky legs which I'm guessing is a reflex, snaking his head and body from side to side, seemingly in bliss.  Or he'll bow his head while you rub behind his ears, or he'll start licking your arm as you rub his chest.  Then all of a sudden in each of these situations he'll snap (literally and metaphorically) and b