Author Topic: Ian Dunbar Toilet Training?  (Read 4378 times)

Offline honeysmummy

Ian Dunbar Toilet Training?
« on: January 17, 2016, 09:37:50 PM »
Hello!

I'm new to these parts.

I've got a beautiful 9 week old orange roan girl who's been with us for a week now.

I'm home 24/7 so I'm trying to do as much as I can from the Ian Dunbar methods.

At the moment I am following the crate training during the day plan where you let them out on the hour for three minutes and if hey go then 10/15 mins play and then back into the crate with food inside a kong and out again after another 50 mins or so.

This is fine and she is doing well in her crate. She occasionally has a little cry but mostly she likes her crate and she sleeps in there at night without any moans.

My query is, and I can't find anything on the internet about this, how long is this process supposed to be? It seems like it can't be great for the dog as they get older and the need to sleep is lessened and the need to wee and poo less frequent too.

I'm really confused and I'm hoping I'm going about this all the right way.

Has anyone done this method? Can anyone give me any advice? I'm not using a play pen with her because I'm here with her so she is in her crate with no room for accidents.

Additional info: she sleeps 10.00-6 with a 2am toilet trip and has only had one night of a wet bed at 2am so she's getting there for night time routine.

Thanks for any advice!!

Offline EmmaRose

• Donator
Re: Ian Dunbar Toilet Training?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 09:59:47 PM »
Hello and Welcome to COL  :D

I have heard of Ian Dunbar but haven't read anything of his so can't offer any advice on this - maybe someone will be along who has.

Do you mean your puppy is in her crate during the day and only comes out for the toilet, gets to play if she goes to the toilet and then goes back into her crate until the next hour??
Emma, Pippa & Rory x

Offline Mudmagnets

• Site Member
  • My boys