Author Topic: from three meals to two?  (Read 1387 times)

Offline *sammy*

• Site Member
from three meals to two?
« on: July 02, 2007, 04:56:06 PM »
over the last few days sammy isn't touching his middle meal at about 12ish. i leave it down for about half and hour then take it away. he'll have a quick sniff and maybe a bite or two but that's it. he's 15 weeks now so is it time to switch him to two meals a day, if so, what times? or shall i leave him on three meals for a little longer? thanks in advance :blink:

Offline Beth

• Site Member
Re: from three meals to two?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2007, 08:14:38 PM »
I'm not an expert by any means, but if he's not interested in the middle one, i'd just cut that one out and leave the other two meals at the same times. :D
Owned by Jarvis (Cocker), and Lucy (Cavalier).

Offline Philtrum

• Site Member
    • www.PhilLawrencePhoto.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2007, 09:53:36 PM »
what is the recommended age for going to 2 meals ? ... im interested as charlie is 15 weeks also, he's a gutsy eater .. so is still wolfing down every meal

Offline Cob-Web

• Inactive
  • To err is human, to forgive, canine
    • Walking on Wight Blog
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2007, 09:56:13 PM »
Personally, I think this is bit young to cut down to 2 meals a day - maybe make breakfast a bit smaller, but it is a long time for a pup to go from morning to evening without a meal, imo  :-\
Enrich your life with an Oldie!
Oldies Club

Offline LurcherGirl

• Site Member
    • Wagging Tails Dog Training
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2007, 10:32:28 AM »
I think the recommended age for switching from 3 to 2 meals is 6 months old... however, Jesse didn't read the books either and started skipping one meal a day at about 4 1/2 months old. I then changed him to 2 meals at just under 5 months old and he has been doing great.

Vera
Vera Marney
BSc (Hons) Canine Behaviour and Training, APDT UK
www.wtdt.co.uk and www.wtdt-eastanglia.co.uk

Offline Wightpaws

• Site Member