Author Topic: When to start looking?  (Read 780 times)

Offline Chellejm

• Site Member
When to start looking?
« on: July 29, 2007, 03:58:28 PM »
I know it's a long way off but we're looking to get a puppy next yr, prob Feb time!  :D

We're off on holiday in September, then obviously it'll be hectic over the Christmas period so thought it's prob best to wait until next year.

Now, I'm just wondering when we should start our search for puppy?  :huh:
How long does it usually take?

Sorry if I sound dim but I'm new to this so please forgive me!  :lol:

I know that I could probably find one right away by looking in free ads and such but I'm sure that's not recommended  :-\

Any advice would be fantastic x
The Herbster!!

Offline ElaineH

• Donator
  • Handsome Morgan 19/06/2008 - 03/03/2024
Re: When to start looking?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2007, 04:11:16 PM »
I'm not able to get a puppy before next Summer but I've already got my plans quite well advanced. I felt that it was never too soon to get started on the hunt, to find a breeder I was happy with and to bring myself to her attention. My breeder and I have exchanged a couple of emails and I hope to organise a visit later this year.

There are several sites which list breeders and which advise you to check the breeders yourself. (Inclusion in a list is by itself no reccommendation!) A good idea is to contact the Cocker Club of the area, they'll be able to supply names of suitable breeders.
"Histories are more full of examples of the fidelity of dogs than of friends"  Alexander Pope

Offline Chellejm

• Site Member
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2007, 04:13:49 PM »
Thanks for that :)
I'm getting excited already hehe ;D
The Herbster!!

Offline spanielcrazy

• Site Member
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2007, 04:22:21 PM »
I'd start now!  :D