Author Topic: Pigs ears for a puppy?  (Read 6689 times)

Offline Corriepup

Pigs ears for a puppy?
« on: November 09, 2009, 05:01:49 PM »
We are complete newbie owners and recently took receipt of an adorable 7 week old golden cocker puppy (Corrie) and have had her now for 2 weeks. While we love her to bits she's beginning to chew things she's not supposed to, which I know is what puppies will do!  ::) She is also showing signs of being aggressive at times, hunching down, barking and then trying to bite everything and everyone in sight when she gets wound up but thats for another topic.

A friend of ours said we should give her a pigs ear to chew as its tough as old boots and she'll love the taste so much that she won't want to chew much else. So we got a couple from the usual 'large pet retail outlet' but it says on the pack for adult dogs, none were puppy specific.

I assume it doesn't say puppies can have them just to cover the seller in case some bits break off and she can't swallow them and they get stuck and they can't get blamed? But that can happen with anything I guess?

Will it be ok to give her one to try and see if it helps?

Offline SkyeSue

• Inactive
Re: Pigs ears for a puppy?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2009, 05:09:38 PM »
Hi and welcome to COL  :D

It's funny, cos the very first question I asked on the forum was is it ok for my pup to eat pigs ears  :shades: :lol2: However, Chloe was about 5 or 6 months by then, and whilst the advice was that the odd one wouldn't harm her, I'd be reluctant to give one to a very young puppy. Hopefully more experienced people will come along soon to advice you. I personally decided against feeding them to Chloe as she seemed to get a bit of an upset tum with them.

And don't worry about Corrie showing signs of agression; its not agression at all, its perfectly normal puppy behaviour, but as you intend to bring that up elsewhere, I'm sure others will help you to find ways of managing it  ;)