Author Topic: Playing  (Read 1754 times)

Offline dylans mum

• Site Member
Playing
« on: November 23, 2007, 04:13:30 PM »
Hello  :D

I'm a newbie to the site. We re-home a black 2 year old cocker spaniel back in September. He's beutiful  :luv: and settling in with us really well except for one thing...

...he won't play with any toys  :huh:

we've not had a cocker before (we've mainly a heinz 57 doggy background) and never ever come across a dog that won't play, is this normal???

we wondered if it has anything to do with his past. He was obviously very loved and well cared for, but he lived with his brother who was much more of a dominant dog and obviously made most of the decisions for the pair. his previous owner left notes with the rescue centre that both dogs loved playing so it seems a bit strange that he has stopped. The brothers had to be separated as after the recuse center sent them away for neutering, they fought when they were put back in together.

while he's completely taken over our house and our lives, he's generally quite a nervous little chap outside the house and is not at all sure about new dogs and new people

we've tried every sort of toy possible and not a sausage. the closest he gets to playing is tipping up the washing basket so he can steal dirty socks and bury them in his basket :005:

any suggestions?

Offline Robbie34

• Donator
Re: Playing
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2007, 04:25:36 PM »
I shouldn't worry about it.  Charley doesn't bother much with toys, and won't chase a ball and return it.  He has a knotted rope and ond one of those soft bone things which he will carry around to show visitors.  Otherwise he is not much interested.

A previous Black Cocker that I had seemed to be obsessed with chasing a ball.  He wanted to play at all hours.

Offline LouiseAS

• Inactive
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2007, 04:41:05 PM »