Author Topic: Sigma lenses  (Read 2035 times)

Offline Harveypops

• Donator
  • owned by Harvey and my honery cocker Flea
Sigma lenses
« on: April 14, 2009, 07:17:40 PM »
Are these OK? I'm looking to get a 50-200mm for the canon 1000d (don't know if I phrased that correctly- novice here). The Sigma lenses are HEAPS cheaper!! Are they any good? Also, what's the 70-300mm lens like? I tried it in the shop, and I can see that it would be great for taking distant shots, but everything seemed so close.

Help!!!   :huh:

Offline Lilly's Mum

• Lilly and Harvey
Re: Sigma lenses
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 07:29:02 PM »
I have the sigi 70-300 and love it, good for when those doglets are right over the other side of the field!!! and moving.

Offline Harveypops

• Donator
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2009, 09:39:24 AM »
Do you have the 50-200 lens as well? If so which of the 2 do you use more? I'm picking up the Sigma 50-200 of a friend who doesn't use their camera anymore, but may buy the 70-300 one as well.

Offline Lilly's Mum

• Lilly and Harvey
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2009, 11:45:13 AM »
No sorry, I have the 17-85 IS USM Canon lense which I use for general purposes, then I have the niftyfifty for macro, and I added the siggy for distance. I have taken some nice pics of the moon, but they need some work in PS to get the clours/shades right, but its fun trying.

I don't know of the 50-200, but can't think it would be too different from a 70-300.

Have fun anyway  :D

Offline silly milly

• Donator
  • silly milly
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2009, 11:56:29 AM »
hubby has the sigma 28-300 lens and he loves it!

before he went digital, he also had sigma on his pentax slr.

never had a problem!!!!
with lots of love from silly milly and her mum!!!!

Offline Philtrum

• Site Member
    • www.PhilLawrencePhoto.co.uk
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2009, 12:07:10 PM »
I've currently got the sigma 28-300, although a bloke at work is coveting it atm