Author Topic: Can anyone give me the lowdown on agility *complete novice!!*  (Read 1356 times)

Offline alfiesgirl

• Site Member
Can anybody tell me the basics of agility??  I would love to start doing it with my working cocker, he'll be a year next month, but I don't know much about it.  In fact all I know is that you have to try and get a clear round around a course of jumps/obsticals!!

So...  how do you get started? Are there leages/levels?  How well trained does your dog have to be before you can start?  Basically any useful info you can give me about the mysteries of agility would be very gratefully received! :lol2:

This is the little devil >:D who I think would love it, he can run really fast and jump really high, thats a start right?? ph34r

Offline Rosie

• Site Member
Re: Can anyone give me the lowdown on agility *complete novice!!*
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2008, 02:58:34 PM »
Okay - right agility is as you know a sport where you try to get your dog around a course of up to 20 obstacles in the right order and fatest time without incurring any faults.

The obstacles to be mastered include - hurdles - normal jumps, spread, long jump and tyre (a sort of hoop to be jumped through), wall
Weaves - 5-12 poles a set distance apart which the dog must weave through - always entering with its shoulder on the left of the first pole
Tunnels - both a rigid and collapsible
Contact equipment which the dog must go from end to end touching the painted areas on both ends - the A Frame - called becuase it looks like an A, dog walk - three long planks - an up, accross and down plank and a see saw which pivots to allow the dog to cross.
Also you may in some top classes and finals see a pause table where the dog must jump onto and wait for an amount of time in a deignated position.

Okay - thats the equipment.  Most people start agility for fun and find a local training club.  A list of clubs can be found on:

www.agilitynet.co.uk